All You Need to Know About Beer for Thanksgiving

Turkey. Great stuff. I think it’s a damn shame we tend to only eat it a couple of times a year, although not so much so that I would resort to cooking those horrible, grotesquely large “turkey breast roasts” they sell year round in supermarkets.

So, Americans, you have one of your great turkey-eating opportunities approaching next week, and if you’re a fan of matching good beer to your food, you’re probably already wondering what to pair with your bird. Lord knows there is no shortage of stories in print and online offering you advice, from wines like riesling (a safe bet) to zinfandel (whaaa?) and beers from Sam Adams Boston Lager (more safety) to Rogue Dead Guy (double whaaa?).

I’m here to tell you, though, that for your Thanksgiving table you need know only one word: Gueuze. Or rather, make that two: Oude Gueuze. Because that “old” designation means that it’s traditionally crafted, unless it’s a Cantillon Gueuze, which are all traditionally crafted and so see no need to add the “oude” modifier.

I’ve been testing beers with turkey for years, and I can assure you that nothing pairs with a roast turkey better than a dry, tart, sparkling gueuze. Even if you think you don’t like gueuze, and I know there are plenty of you out there, even among die-hard beer aficionados, one sip alongside a forkful of turkey and savoury stuffing will change your mind. Trust me.

 

5 Comments

Filed under food and dining, lambic

5 responses to “All You Need to Know About Beer for Thanksgiving

  1. Mark Haynie

    Gueuze is my favorite style but have not had it with turkey. I have been opening a Heavyweight Biere d’Art every year to accompany our dinner. I still have a bunch left but will also open one of my Hannsen’s gueuzes also this year. Thanks.

  2. Pingback: Craft Beer in Cans (my, very short, two cents) | Worst Beer Blog Ever

  3. I agree, one can not go wrong with a gueuze, funny story though,Cantillon is even rare in Brussels! But there are some really good ones. I just recently had St. Louis Gueuze Fond Tradition, it is certainly not Three Fountains or Cantillon but it is also only 7 bucks for a bottle.

  4. I brew a barleywine/old ale every November in preparation for the following Thanksgiving. Looking forward to deep fried turkey (in-laws are from SC after all), green bean casserole and a few bottles of 9.6% old ale…..

  5. Pingback: Oregon Beer News, 11/17/2011: The Brew Site

Leave a comment